to the top of the page

ND Wheat Commision

The North Dakota Wheat Commission works to sustain and expand use of wheat grown by North Dakota farmers by creating worldwide market opportunities through efforts including opening overseas markets, reinforcing consumption of grain foods, developing new wheat varieties and influencing international import and export policies. Wheat producers fund these programs with a checkoff of a penny and a half on each bushel sold.

Founded in 1959, the North Dakota Wheat Commission is directed through a grassroots approach. Producers meet at the county level to elect representatives, who in turn elect six district commissioners. The governor appoints a seventh commissioner from a list of nominees submitted by major farm and grower organizations. These seven producers make up the board of commissioners. They develop policy and programs, oversee their implementation and approve budget expenditures. Commissioners can serve no more than three four-year terms. Five employees administer programs and activities.

upcoming events - image of hand holding wheat


2020 Virtual Hard Red Spring Wheat Pre-Harvest Update
Hosted by the ND Wheat Commission and ND Grain Growers   As harvest time approaches for the U.S. spring wheat crop, domestic and international customers are anxious to get the latest crop information. ...
2020 Virtual Durum Crop Update
The North Dakota Wheat Commission and the U.S. Durum Growers Association will be hosting a 2020 Virtual Durum Crop Update on August 18, 2020 starting at 10:00 a.m., CST.  The grower groups, along...

view more events
Stay Informed with our E-Newsletter

copyright © 2020 North Dakota Wheat Commision
designed and programmed by odney