to the top of the page
background image design


Commission Thanks Freitag for Years of Service

Posted: Sep 24 2019

Bruce Freitag, Scranton, retired from the North Dakota Wheat Commission (NDWC) board on June 30, 2019 after serving 12 years representing wheat producers across the state.  Freitag was first appointed to the Commission by Governor John Hoeven in 2007 and was reappointed for two additional terms, serving the allowable three terms.  The Commission board of directors is made up of seven producers, six of whom are elected by producers in their district and one who is appointed by the Governor.  

Freitag served as Chairman of the Commission for the past year and served as Vice-Chair from 2015 to 2018.  During his tenure on the Commission Bruce also participated on many national committees and boards including the U.S. Wheat Associates (USW) Board of Directors, USW Long Range Planning Committee and USW/NAWG Biotech Committee, the board of directors of the National Pasta Association, and the U.S. Wheat and Barley Scab Initiative.  On a more local scale he represented the Commission on the ND Grain Growers Association, the ND Ag Rail Council, the ND Ag Coalition, and participated in many NDWC sponsored producer meetings and trade team missions.

The Commission appreciates Bruce’s years of dedication to serving the wheat producers of North Dakota.  “Throughout his 12 years of service to the NDWC, Bruce provided great insight into important issues facing the producers of our state and dedicated much time to serving on local and national committees as the voice of North Dakota wheat,” says Neal Fisher, NDWC Administrator.  “We will miss his expertise and contributions to our board,” he adds.  Thank you Bruce!

Stay Informed with our E-Newsletter

copyright © 2024 North Dakota Wheat Commision
designed and programmed by odney