to the top of the page
background image design


Southwest and North Central Commissioners Re-Elected

Posted: Apr 06 2020

Jim Bahm and Philip Volk were re-elected to the ND Wheat Commission (NDWC) Board following county and district elections this winter.  Bahm, from New Salem, serves the southwest district of the state and was elected to his third term.  He currently represents the Commission on the ND Ag Coalition, ND    Rail Council and Northern Crops Council and holds the transportation portfolio for the Commission.  Bahm also holds a board seat on the State Board of Agricultural Research and Education (SBARE).

Volk, from York, represents producers in the north central district and was elected to his second term on the Commission.  Volk is the current Vice Chair of the Commission and holds a board seat on the U.S. Wheat Associates Board of Directors where he is on the Budget Committee and Wheat Quality Committee.  He is the Commission representative to the Wheat Marketing Center in Portland, OR, and the SBARE Wheat Granting Committee.

Bahm and Volk have both been very active on state and national committees and boards, representing North Dakota wheat producers.  In addition, they have met with various international trade teams and educational short courses, providing the necessary link between producers and customers.  “Serving on the NDWC Board takes a lot of commitment, it takes time away from our farms and families and I commend both Jim and Phil for dedicating their time to serve producers in our state,” NDWC Chairman Greg Svenningsen states.  “The activities that the Commission carries out, along with its partners, helps sustain and grow the demand for our high quality wheat,” he adds.

The Commission consists of seven producer board members, six of which are producer elected and one appointed by the Governor.  Elections are held every four years within each of the six districts, with the At-Large position selected in the off year.  The Commission board is responsible for setting the budget and developing policy and programs for market development, research, domestic promotion, and domestic and trade policy.  County representatives usually meet once per year at an annual meeting and serve a vital role in ensuring local issues are included in statewide discussions and being a resource in helping to establish priorities for investment of the wheat check-off.

County representatives elected in 2020 are listed by county (incumbents are noted with an asterisk*)

District 1 & District 4
Adams – Dustin Laufer, Hettinger
Benson – Philip Volk, York*
Billings – Loren Bock, Belfield*
Bottineau – Lenny Artz, Westhope*
Bowman – Colby Schumacher, Reeder
Dunn – Lenci Sickler, Gladstone
Golden Valley – Don Hardy, Beach
Grant – Wes Frederick, Flasher*
Hettinger – Keith Witte, Regent*
McHenry – David Thom, Granville*
Mercer – Gary Knell, Hazen*
Morton – Jim Bahm, New Salem*
Oliver – Mikael Schmidt, Center
Pierce – Mike Schmaltz, Rugby 
Ramsey – Matt Olson, Devils Lake*
Rolette – Mark Martinson, Rolette*
Sioux – Jamie Heid, Selfridge*
Slope – Miles Hansen, Bowman
Stark – Dean Baar, Gladstone
Towner – Alec Miller, Cando

Stay Informed with our E-Newsletter

copyright © 2024 North Dakota Wheat Commision
designed and programmed by odney